The Goofy Movie was made for Black Kids and Teens

I know this one has probably been done before and is extremely old, but I had to do a post. If you are like me and watched every Disney movie that was ever released during the 90’s then you probably ran across The Goofy Movie. I loved a lot of the Disney movies that came out during the 90s, but The Goofy Movie was very different. What makes The Goofy Movie stand out more than the others? It was definitely made to appeal more towards black children and teens. Obviously, it wasn’t a movie about princesses or animals that fought for supremacy of the land but about teens and growing up.

Max is raised in a single parent home by none other than Goofy. If you know anything about Goofy it’s not easy for Max to deal with. The movie is set in the 90s so it definitely reflects all types of grunge and hip-hop culture. In my opinion, Max leans toward the hip-hop side in his music taste and style. Hell at one point in the movie Max is referred to as a gang member by the principal. When I was growing up as a black male I had to dress and talk a certain way to be seen as black. This is the same for Max and why I think he’s so relatable to black teens who are different.  I think what really makes The Goofy Movie a black movie is the music. Powerline who is a famous pop singer who is voiced by R&B singer Tevin Campbell. The character Powerline isn’t a rock and roll artist, but a pop singer that is very similar to Michael Jackson.

powerline2.png

 

Powerline is loved by the entire high school population in the movie. What Powerline and Tevin Campbell do in this movie is show how dominant and important black culture is. I say this because this is true in our actual reality and this movie reflects that. I’m glad that Disney made this movie because it was very important for my generation. Out of all the Disney movies that were released during the time this one was the underrated classic that is still overlooked. The Goofy Movie deserves an actual vault release so that it can get the recognition it finally deserves.

powerline.gif

Leave a comment